The Core of Christian Ethics and Plain Old Everyday Christian Behavior

Some sweet day maybe I will figure out why working hard at chores around the homestead brings with it some thoughts from another place, a place not yet familiar, but assuredly known.

Dear Brothers and Sisters in Jesus Messiah, I have been blessed in incalculable ways by my time at Asbury Theological Seminary.  My philosophy and ethics courses still stretch me  toward the ancient paths where the good way is.  After some sweat-drenched (part of my chores were outdoors) reflection the following congealed in my mind, heart, and spirit. In the event I can overcome the inertia of feeling my age right now, I will make a little pocket card that I’ll laminate and carry around. Maybe the ancient paths will be more plain to myopic me. Just pull out the card, Old Man…

The Core Of Christian Ethics and Plain Old Everyday Christian Behavior

Be, say, and do only that which

  1. Pleases the Father
  2. Brings glory to the Son
  3. Results from the movement and ministry of the Holy Spirit

from Jeremiah 6:16 ~

Thus says the Lord:
“Stand by the roads, and look,
and ask for the ancient paths,
where the good way is; and walk in it,
and find rest for your souls.
[But they said, ‘We will not walk in it.’]

I may leave off the bracketed sentence on my little card, but it does serve as a stark and fitting warning. An ounce of buzzkill is better than the pounding that comes with the cure??

In, for, with, and by HIS agapé,

Michael +

Leave a Reply

